Oh so Lucky.

Today I am thankful for health.

My mom forwarded me an email yesterday morning from one of her good friends from high school. She had an email of someone I needed so my mom reached out to her for me. It took her while to respond and she explained why in the email.

She has been cancer free for 11 years and recently found out it showed up again in her spine. Obviously, she is going through and incredibly hard time but the entire email was upbeat and positive. She ended her email with the following:

“I can’t believe it- 11 years and now this?! I am feeling really sick and have been laying low in bed but I’m a fighter, ya know? And it will be OK.”

At the same moment I was reading this, I was sitting in bed feeling sorry for myself for a variety of reasons (lame reasons). I was thinking about skipping my run and complaining about other things. As soon as I read the email I started crying. I was overwhelmed by her strength and attitude towards life. I don’t know if I would be as positive as she has been. Truly inspiring.

I got my butt out of bed, laced up my tennis shoes and thanked God for my health. I had a great run- between her and my morning boot camp crew listening to me yell at them all morning, I was inspired to knock out six miles in 45 minutes. Done and done.

It is easy for us to get wrapped up in our little diva lives and worries, sometimes we need a rude awakening to remember life really isn’t that bad. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

